Meet us on:
Welcome to Read Print! Sign in with
or
to get started!
 
Entire Site
    Try our fun game

    Dueling book covers…may the best design win!

    Random Quote
    "Take the diplomacy out of war and the thing would fall flat in a week."
    More: War quotes
     

    Subscribe to Our Newsletter

    Belinda

    by Maria Edgeworth
    • Rate it:
    • Category: Fiction
    • 2 Favorites on Read Print

    Book Description

    In the tradition of Fanny Burney's "Evelina" and Elizabeth Inchbald's "A Simple Story", but with perhaps more serious intent, Maria Edgeworth's "Belinda" is a coming-of-age tale about a naive young girl thrust into the sophisticated world of late eighteenth-century London. Guided by Lady Delacour, the eponyous heroine must navigate her way through the maze that leads to love and marriage. Interwoven with this narrative is a sub-plot that exposes the hypocrisy of the fashionable world, as Belinda discovers Lady Delacour is estranged from both her husband and her daughter, and believes herself to be suffering from cancer, although she is unable to confide in anyone. A complex story of many strands, it is an extremely significant novel both in terms of the development of narrative fiction and the portrayal of women.

    Reader Ratings & Reviews

    5 star:
    (0)
    4 star:
    (0)
    3 star:
    (0)
    2 star:
    (0)
    1 star:
    (0)
    If you're writing a Belinda essay and need some advice, post your Maria Edgeworth essay question on our Facebook page where fellow bookworms are always glad to help!

    Top 5 Authors

    Top 5 Books

    Book Status
    Finished
    Want to read
    Abandoned

    Are you sure you want to leave this group?